Take a note

I’m typically taking notes, writing memos and shopping lists. So I always need something to keep them visible. Magnetic notepads usually work fine, but they tend to start falling apart within a couple of months and I end-up looking for a better solution.

I’ve been keeping this idea in mind for a while, but a new Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge “Home Decor” pushed me to bring it to life. And here is my magnetic note holder:

CatchySketch_Note_holder

Magnetic note holder

I made a picture of it sitting on our fridge as I will be using it to hold grocery shopping lists. It’s really convenient to have a list handy in the kitchen, so that I can add something right away.

Here are the ‘ingredients’… I used a leftover magnetic stripe for creating the base (it came with a custom-made photo magnet I ordered online) and painted it with a gold Rust-Oleum spray paint. Springtime banner is from Graphic45 Time to Flourish Collection, butterfly embellishment was a part of K&Company Brenda Walton Die-Cut Cardstock & Vellum set and a flower is hand-made from 4 types of ribbons and one decorative button.

This is a Japanese technique for creating folded cloth flowers for traditional tsumami kanzashi hair ornaments. I created it from folded pieces of ribbons using hot glue gun. This technique takes pretty much time and effort, but I like how it turned out.

Thanks for reading and happy crafting!

Challenges entered:

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog

2 thoughts on “Take a note

Thanks so much for all your comments!

