Summer wonderland

It’s getting hot here in California: sun shines high, flowers in bloom, butterflies and hummingbirds are coming to feed on flowers… Such an inspirational time for crafting!

CatchySketch_Wonderland_DSCN9866

I will be entering this card in three challenges:

Here is a color combination from Bev, a hostess of CAS Colours & Sketches – Colour Challenge #176:

CC&S color176-001

I tried to match these colors as close as possible, using my watercolor pencils and an old set of St. Petersburg Watercolours.

I’ve been having this Darice embossing folder for a couple of months, but haven’t used it yet. I initially wanted to emboss and color in this beautiful pattern, so I went with this idea. I stretched my watercolor paper prior embossing to prevent it from warping.

I partially colored this pattern with my watercolor pencils leaving plenty of white space to make it CAS. Then washed them with clear water and small round paintbrush. I like the contrast of crisp embossing and fuzzy coloring.

I wanted to create a sentiment in the same color scheme, so I made a gradient wash on watercolor paper, let it dry and cut my sentiment out of it, using Cuttlebug.

Materials used:

  • Canson 140lb Watercolor Paper
  • DCWV textured cardstock – Pastels
  • Darice Embossing Folder – Henna
  • KOH-I-NOOR Hardtmuth Aquarell watercolor pencils – set of 36
  • St. Petersburg Watercolours – set of 24
  • Sizzix Thinlits Dies – Holiday Words: Script

butterfly player badge png            66            mondayblog-logo

18 thoughts on “Summer wonderland

  1. Patricia Hays says:

    What a neat embossing folder! I like how you’ve highlighted parts of it with the watercoloring. I’m glad you shared your card with us at CC&S, and I hope you’ll join us again soon for another challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lizbaileycards says:

    Wow – this is gorgeous. I love the idea of watercolouring on top of an embossing folder. I’m so glad that you chose to use this week’s challenge at CAS Colours & Sketches for your colour inspiration. Thanks so much for joining us and I hope that we’ll see you again very soon. A new challenge is posted tomorrow, hint hint! Liz x

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

