Thinking out of the box

Of course, I have a box with Christmas ornaments and other decorations and I also have one more box – with origami ornaments. So if I’m decorating Christmas tree with origami, why don’t I use it for Christmas cards? It’s so much fun!

CatchySketch_origami_stocking_2_DSCN0749

I was creating this card with three challenges in mind. 

As my starting point I used a sketch by Beverley from CAS Colours & Sketches Sketch Challenge #177. I hope it’s okay to play along with a Christmas card…

My color scheme and the idea of putting lollipop inside the stocking come from Merry Monday #209 Inspiration Challenge.

And the idea with twine is from Happy Little Stampers June Christmas Challenge.

My origami stocking resembles the shape of a tag and a bow with sentiment went in place of a star in the sketch. Initially I wanted to place a bow on top and a lollipop on the side, but it didn’t look ‘right’ for me and I swapped them finally.

I intentionally stamped sentiments and hearts on textured cardstock as if they were drawn on the snow or ice. I used metallic gel pens to add some accents.

Here is a closeup on this card to show you the details:

CatchySketch_origami_stocking_1_DSCN0737

Materials used:

  • Tuttle Origami paper – traditional prints
  • DCWV textured cardstock – Pastels
  • American Crafts textured cardstock – White
  • Simon Says Stamp clear stamp set – Christmas
  • Bakery Twine from Target
  • Y&C gel metallic rollers
  • Prismacolor colored pencils

Challenges entered:

sketch 177 209 HLS Christmas Challenge June 2016

Recognition:

Christmas Favourite Badge

20 thoughts on “Thinking out of the box

  1. Beverley says:

    Lovely ‘out of the box’ card and take on the sketch, very creative. Loved reading your thought process of you creating your card too. Thanks so much for sharing and joining in at CC&S this week. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. susanbri says:

    What a fun and unusual card! Great idea to make the origami stocking and lovely use of the twine. Thanks for joining us at Happy Little Stampers.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

