Kiss from a rose

CatchySketch_15_floral

As usually, I’m combining several challenges with different tasks. This time my tasks are coming from the following challenges:

I painted this flower and a border on the bottom with watercolors, using a wet-in-wet technique. I went over all the areas with clear water first and then started to add colors, so that they were blending on the paper. Then I let my painting dry and added these unusual marks in more saturated hues of the same colors using a fan blender brush by Royal & Langnickel. I outlined my flower and decorated the border with liner.

Initially I wanted to use my Martha Stewart swirling lace corner and border punch set on the border, but finally I used it on only one corner to add a little something special. Soft pink card base frames the image and balances all the colors. It also makes punch-out more visible.

Sentiment is stamped and altered a bit with liner.

My inspiration for this card is a beautiful song that I love – “Kiss From a Rose” by Seal. Let it be a wild rose…

Materials used:

  • Canson 140lb Watercolor Paper
  • St. Petersburg Watercolors – set of 24
  • Pigma Micron liner – 005
  • Royal Langnickel Zen Brush – Fan, Z73FB
  • Simon Says Stamp stamp set – It’s Your Birthday!
  • DCWV textured cardstock – Pastels

Challenges entered:

#71   ChallengeGraphic7  wednesdayblog-logoMake Your Mark badge

Thanks for stopping by,
Regina

22 thoughts on “Kiss from a rose

  1. Sarah says:

    Such beautiful and crisp stamping, gorgeous blending & colouring and choice of colour too plus I’m loving how you were inspired by a song – just perfect. Thanks for sharing with us at AAA Cards & Uniko this week. Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

