That Spirit of Christmas

catchysketch_christmas_8

I wanted to create a Christmas card with a Christmas Tree, but I don’t have any suitable stamps or dies… (the way to shop) and I have only one green ink pad, that is definitely not pine green, it’s Pear Tart… I decided to create a general impression of a Christmas tree, using suitable stamps from different sets. And I have blue and yellow ink pads, that, according to the color theory, should give me a darker green hue (the way to go). So my card is more about the spirit, than about the tree, but I like how it turned out.

I started with acrylic block stamping again to have a yellow backdrop for my blue ink. Then I stamped circles of different sizes and added strings of bunting in gold above. Gold ink shows like yellow in photo, but it’s shimmery in person. I didn’t mask any area, so it looks a bit messy, but why not? Christmas preparations and celebrations also can be messy at times…

And my song inspiration for this card is “That Spirit of Christmas” by Ray Charles.

Materials used:

  • Happy Little Stampers clear stamp sets – Mix Mash (circles), Birthday Friends (strings of bunting)
  • Simon Says Stamp clear stamp set – Christmas (sentiment)
  • Simon Says Stamp dies – Stitched Rectangles
  • Canson 140lb Watercolor Paper
  • American Crafts textured cardstock – White
  • Tsukineko Memento Dew Drop ink pads – Beach Party Set, Tuxedo Black
  • Tsukineko Brilliance Dew Drop ink pad – Galaxy Gold
  • Ranger Distress mini ink pad – Wild Honey

Challenges entered:

hls-christmas-challenge-september-2016    HSL Anything Goes Badge    wednesdayblog-logo

Holiday badge

Thanks for stopping by,

Regina

26 thoughts on “That Spirit of Christmas

  1. Kathy D says:

    It is definitely a Christmas tree! The tree looks like it is done in a bokeh style (technique?), but I have only ever thought of using that as a background. Great way to use the supplies you have, Regina!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanie Lanzalotto says:

    Oh I LOVE this card. You really thought outside of the box, and you came up with a fabulous creation. I love that you put the different images together to create your tree. I love the colors you’ve used – a departure from the usual. It’s fantastic! Thanks for linking up and playing along with us at the HLS September Christmas Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Monika Reeck says:

    wooow all the circle to make that tree?
    clever idea Regina
    and lovely colors too
    great christmas card
    many thanks for joining with us at ATSM this week
    hugs
    Monika
    (I will not visit my comment back if you like to answer you can visit me back sweety and I invite you to joining our challenge at Creative with Stamps see my right side on my blog you can find the badge :))

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Susan says:

    This card is awesome!!! I love the contemporary feel of it 🙂 Great job using what you have to make a fabulous creation! Thanks for playing along with us for our Holiday challenge at ATSM this week!
    Susan – DT

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

