A little something special

catchysketch_33_1_special

This month’s task at Happy Little Stampers CASE the Designer Challenge is to CASE a beautiful card by Birgit Norton:

just-a-note

I was highly inspired with this challenge and tried to CASE the following:

retro look of this card,

color palette,

layout,

text on the background,

floral elements.

I started with a blank watercolor paper: cut it to the size and made a flat wash with yellow, leaving the edges white. Then I went around the edges with brown and again with yellow and repeated the same a couple of times until I achieved this aged look.

catchysketch_33_2_closeup_

I let it dry completely and tried to stencil the flowers, using a stenciling brush, but it was more like leaving puddles of water instead of color… and water went right beneath the stencil. I removed water with paper towel and decided to paint the flowers instead.

When it was dry I went on with stamping HLS sentiment ‘Sending Hugs’ all over my panel. I stamped it in rows: one row in a regular way and the other one – upside down, so that it doesn’t look the same.

catchysketch_33_4_background

Now to the focal point. I cut my lacy front panel with a couple of dies out of shimmery cream card and sanded it a bit with abrasive kitchen sponge to get less shimmery look.

Then it was a long process of trial and error with choosing colors of felt and types of dies for these flowers, so now I have plenty of flowers left… When flowers were assembled I sprayed them with water and shaped a bit with big stylus.

For my tiny label I’ve torn a piece of watercolor paper, dipped it in water and colored, then let it dry and stamped my sentiment, inking it with two tones of brown at the same time.

So the rest is self-explanatory… it’s already a text-heavy post… I was so involved in this process and loved working on this card, that I’m missing it already and I’ll keep it for myself!

Materials:

Challenges:

hls-case-badge   HLS AG with Dies Badge (1)   HSL Anything Goes Badge   Make Your Mark badge

Recognition:

case-favourite-1

Thanks for stopping by,

Regina

18 thoughts on “A little something special

  1. SleepyTown says:

    This is just beautiful. I really appreciate (with just a dash of envy) those who can make beautiful things with paper. Paper is definitely not my medium. And that’s probably why I don’t give people cards with their presents haha. I need to fix that.
    Thank you for following my blog by the way 🙂 always lovely to meet new people.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

