Trying new technique…

catchysketch_34_embossing

As a beginner in cardmaking, I’m exploring something new every time, but heat embossing is completely different from everything else I’ve tried so far. 

My heat tool has finally arrived yesterday and I decided to test it right away.

I embossed chrysanthemum on watercolor paper and colored it in several layers. Then I made a gradient wash around the flower and to the top of my panel. When it dried, I outlined my flower on the bottom.

Sentiment and rings are heat embossed on the stripe of dotted vellum.

Rings didn’t turn out crisp as I had an ‘accident’ while heating them… I was holding vellum with tweezers, but it slipped right out and embossing was damaged, so I had to fix it with embossing pen. As it turned out okay and I didn’t have any time to do it again, I left it as it is.

It will be my parent’s wedding anniversary in November, so this card will make a nice and simple gift.

Materials:

Challenges:

oct-2016-cas-badge   octoberchallengerainbow   HSL Anything Goes Badge

Thanks for stopping by,

Regina

20 thoughts on “Trying new technique…

  1. Nancee56 says:

    What a pretty card. Heat embossing was one of the first techniques I tried when I started card making. I loved the raised effect it gave the cards. I have never heat embossed on vellum before. I’m always going to try it but haven’t so far. Your rings turned out great, despite the “little problem” you had. I’m sure your parents will love the card! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DebGem says:

    Heat embossing is such fun and I love the way you’ve used it here. The flower is so pretty and I do like the vellum sentiment too. Thanks so much for playing along with Uniko this month! Deborah, DT.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beverley Brown says:

    Lovely to see you using and enjoying your Uniko Pure Florals: Chrysanthemum set and it looks beautiful in this rainbow delight. The gold embossing adds the perfect touch. Thank you so much for joining in with the Uniko challenge and my apologies for commenting so late. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

