Marvellous Mehndi

catchysketch_36_mehndi

I love coloring as I find it very relaxing and somewhat meditative. 

I received my Marvellous Mehndi stamp set from Uniko on Monday and couldn’t wait to use it on my cards. I started with stamping three images on a blending card to create this pattern and went on with coloring.

I  love using bright cheerful colors, where appropriate, and patterns like mandalas and mehndi are perfect for this. I started from the center of my main image with brights and went on to the edges with more subtle colors.

Dotted vellum creates a backdrop for die-cut sentiment and separates it from the pattern, but you can still see the coloring behind.

Sentiment is die-cut two times from blending card and layered. I colored both layers with Copic Sketch markers: one with black and another one with three colors (R43, Y35, E01), blending them to create this gradient. I used small acrylic block for blending. It’s a new technique for me, that I’ve learned from this video tutorial by Kathy Racoosin (The Daily Marker).

Assembling this card was very easy with some adhesive tape and glue dots for the sentiment.

Materials:

  • Uniko clear stamp set – Marvellous Mehndi
  • My Favorite Things Die-namics – Smile
  • X-Press It blending card
  • Neenah Creative Collection Premium Vellum
  • Tsukineko Memento Dew Drop ink pad – Tuxedo Black
  • Copic Sketch markers – Anniversary Set, Black
  • American Crafts textured cardstock – White

Challenges:

octoberchallengerainbow   img_1208

Recognition:

Randomly selected winner at Uniko

unikochallengeplayer

Thanks for stopping by,

Regina

21 thoughts on “Marvellous Mehndi

  1. PaperPuff says:

    What a great antidote to a November day. I am normally ambivalent about these kinds of images and stamps but actually this has changed my mind! I love the colours and the design, and the way you have used the greeting too. Now I may have to go shopping again…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Traci says:

    Hi Regina!

    I love how you colored this image! Such a variety of colors and they all work beautifully together! I just bought a coloring book for when I’m on the go, waiting for appointments, on a flight, times like that. I bring gel pens or colored pencils with me. They are light weight. The small sized book has all types of designs. It has repetitive flowers, peacock feathers, leaves, and designs like yours.

    I constantly mess up the color order from piece to piece. Do you color one segment completely, then do the whole next segment, or do you color the first color on all of the repetitive pieces, then do the second color all the way across, and so forth? I would really appreciate it if you wouldn’t mind sharing how you keep the order! And, I respect your right to keep the tips of your talent to yourself also. No pressure at all.

    This is just lovely! It would make a great gift for someone who also meditates–put a simple frame on it, and let your coloring be the focus!

    He-IS-Able!
    Traci Starkweather tracistarkweather@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Regina, Catchy Sketch says:

      Hi, Traci! Thank you for the compliments! I also like taking colored pencils with me. I typically start from the center of the image (if it’s something like this) or from the top (if it’s not circular) and color in rows: all segments of one color in a row, then I pick next color and do the same. It really helps to keep things in order, but there can be mistakes also. You can start with lighter shades, as it will be easier to cover mistakes later. I’m happy to share these tips and will be happy if it helps!

      Like

  3. Traci says:

    Hello again!

    I apologize. I left a comment a moment ago and I have a remaining question. I’ve been wondering about sentiments placed like yours on this lovely card.

    Does the sentiment fold down some how to fit into an A2 envelope? Do you use a larger envelope? Or, do you cut the card more narrowly and then have room in the envelope for it? I have never seen this explained. I would greatly appreciate knowing this as i’very been wondering about 8 months! Thank you for considering to share this wisdom with us!

    He-IS-Able!
    Traci Starkweather tracistarkweather@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Regina, Catchy Sketch says:

      Hi again, Traci! No problem at all! To be exact, the dimensions of my card are 4 1/4 by 5 1/2 inches and a sentiment is sticking out about 1/2 inch and it doesn’t fold. But I have a couple of envelopes (not hand-made), that are perfect for this card, but they are for 5×7 cards. A square envelope 6×6 will work just fine.

      Like

  4. Beverley Brown says:

    Seeing this in the Uniko Challenge gallery truly made me smile. What a delight to see you enjoying your Uniko goodies and beautifully coloured too. Thank you so much for joining in with the Uniko challenge and my apologies for commenting so late. Hugs Bev x

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

