The Violin

The last one for now and my favorite painting from Sherlock Holmes series – Violin.

regina_kolebabchuk_1_violin_crop_660

It was challenging, but very interesting to paint wooden texture and to learn something about violin: how is it made and how it looks from the side, what parts are flat and what are sticking out and how much. I needed this information to make it look more realistic and to paint a realistic shadow.

It’s called ‘study’ when an artist makes different sketches or paintings of his subject at different angles or in different projections, etc.

I used white colored pencil to add some highlights and draw strings and hair attached to the bow.

Hope you like it and thanks for stopping by,

Regina

11 thoughts on “The Violin

    • Regina, Catchy Sketch says:

      Thank you, Kathy! Sorry for my late reply! I’m a journalist by profession, but I studied interior design (500 hours) and now I’m taking watercolor classes online and illustration classes also. But I was painting in childhood on my own since the age of 2 or 3)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. PaperPuff says:

    I can see why this is your favourite. It looks so, so good! Violins are such a pleasing shape, aren’t they? I think you did them justice. Have you got another series lined up?

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for all your comments!

